Other…

Highly Scientific Research
Highly Scientific Research

The above chart is a representation of the kinds of jewelry that I make.  You’ve seen necklaces, bracelets, brooches, and some of my earrings, but you might be wondering about that “other” category.  There have been times when I’ve decided to be difficult (gasp!) or weird (double gasp!) and chose to decide a piece for an unusual body part.  This began with an upper arm bracelet that I designed in my sophomore jewelry class at Tyler.

My junior year, second semester, we had one project that we had the entire semester to concentrate on – a hinged, hollowform bracelet.  What did I make? Obviously I made a bracelet type piece for my upper calf.  Yes, it fit and didn’t fall down.  Yes, it was a pain to make.  And yes, I was the only one designing for a leg.  (This was actually the piece that got that Xena comment.)  I had different design considerations than my classmates.  Bracelets don’t always have to be fitted, they can hang a bit loose and your hand tends to keep them from falling off.  Your calf is not a regular shape.  You have to make sure that the piece fits exactly other wise it’s down around your ankle.  Luckily, I have shapely calves and the piece stayed where I wanted it.

After college I also made a couple of “different” objects.  Eun-Ju Lee (the instructor at Montgomery College in the class I

Humble Conceit
Humble Conceit

was auditing for studio privileges), half jokingly said that I should make a bra.  We had two weeks left in the class and I didn’t have any plans, so I went ahead and made one!  Yes, it also fit and I did wear it for the final class critique.

My most recent “other” creation was my crown, Humble Conceit.  I had designed it to enter a specific exhibition that had guidelines that the piece fit into the categories of masks, visages, or veils.  I didn’t get accepted into the exhibition (though this piece was in Art of the State 2007) but I did begin my current journey here.  This was the piece that first had torch patinated nickel and riveted bezels, two elements that are found throughout my current work.

Maybe it’s time for me to think this way again.  There are so many body parts yet to be adorned.  (Hey, keep it clean people!)  What unusual place would you want to see adorned?