The Distinction is in the Details

Do you ever look through the work at a craft show or gallery and wonder what makes you choose one work over another?  Sometimes it’s all in the details.  I’ve seen pieces that have a beautiful, unique, interesting pendant that is hanging on a

Back of Water, Elements #4
Back of Water, Elements #4

boring, unimaginative, bought chain or strand of beads.  It just falls flat.

A master craftsman takes the design of their entire piece into consideration.  The bottom of the base, the edges, the back, the chain and findings, all of these parts should be designed with the care that went into the rest of the piece.  That’s what takes the work to the next level.  Not everyone consciously notices the details, but they provide that “certain something” that draws one to these works.

I too have been known to use bought chains, findings, and strands of beads in past works.  I still do in some of my lower priced pendants to keep the price down.  Over the past year though, I’ve been really trying to design and make my own chains.  I’ve been thinking about backs of pendants and edges of bowls.  This is most evident in my Elements and Medallion series.  I still have a ways to go before I’ll be thought of as a “master” anything, but I’m definitely trying to take every part of my designs into consideration.  I never want to stop growing as an artist and this is just one more way I can work to improve my pieces.

So what one detail can you improve in what you do that will strengthen the whole?

Bean Brooch Back
Bean Brooch Back