Wendy: Warrior Jeweler?

Xena: Warrior Princess
Xena: Warrior Princess

You may have noticed, through this blog, Twitter, or possibly Facebook, that I am a fan of Sci-Fi/Fantasy.  Books, TV shows, movies.  You may also be wondering why I’m mentioning this on a blog that’s supposed to be about jewelry.  Have you seen my work?!  In college, the words “Klingon” and “Xena” were often uttered in conjunction with my pieces.  I took it as a compliment.  Actually, I had the idea to write this post after reading Tamra’s teaser about a BSG inspired piece.

The Sci-Fi/Fantasy industry offers jewelers, costumers, and hairdressers a unique opportunity to stretch their creativity.  You’re allowed to think outside the realm of “normal.”  You get to imagine, “What would an alien culture choose to adorn, and how would they design it?”  Sometimes it would have to fit into established cultural forms,

TNG-esque Chalice from my Senior Year
TNG-esque Chalice from my Senior Year

such as comic book characters or Klingons.  But how great would it be to get to adorn an entirely new culture or race from scratch?

Sometimes a film will even use work by an established jeweler.  At the Te Papa museum in Wellington, NZ, they had jewelry by Jasmine Watson in their shop, the jeweler who created the the pieces that the elves wore in Lord of the Rings.  And don’t forget the necklace Princess Leia wore during the awards ceremony at the end of the original Star Wars film.  It was made by the Finnish designer, Björn Weckström.

Now, I’m not saying that my ultimate goal is to design jewelry for movies, I don’t know that I would necessarily want to have my work fit within a director’s “vision” for a film.  I just like to think about what a completely alien culture would wear.  And you can’t tell me that it wouldn’t be fun to design jewelry for Conan‘s wedding.  Just what does a formal loincloth go with,anyway?