March Artist of the Month – Jenn Avery

Snow Geese ©Jenn Avery
Snow Geese ©Jenn Avery

This month I wanted to feature a local artist and I wanted to have something a bit different.  So I chose gourd artist Jenn Avery.  “A gourd artist?” you ask.  Yes, she works with gourds.  And she doesn’t just make birdhouses with them either.  She also makes bowls, ornaments, and even purses.  What really sets her gourds outside the realm of much gourd art is the pyrography she has on them.  (That’s a fancy word for burning.)

Little Bunny ©Jenn Avery
Little Bunny ©Jenn Avery

I first saw her work at Mt Gretna two years ago and I really loved the drawings on them.  The care with which she draws the animals and patterns is what really sets her work apart.  So browse her website and check out her gourds for sale on Etsy.