Super Art Day!

Yesterday I had a super art day jam packed with super art stuff.  OK, I didn’t do too much in the morning, but the afternoon and evening was packed!  First I went out with my stepmom to the Phillips Museum of Art at Franklin & Marshall college in Lancaster.  There were two really amazing exhibits there.

The first exhibit was Martha Walker‘s Expanding Universe.  She makes steel sculptures which at first look like organisms or sea creatures.  Then you read their names and step back a little and a jellyfish becomes an atom bomb explosion and bumpy columns become the “Two Towers.”

Then we went downstairs and saw Embracing the Uncarved Wood.  This showcased woodcarvings from a school for the deaf in China.  The textures and imagery were really amazing.  Unfortunately I can’t give you a link to the school, but you can check out what’s on F & M’s page (you’ll have to scroll down).

We then went downtown and checked out Heitman Atelier & Gallery, and Annex 24.  We also saw The City and Other Places, and exhibit at PCAD with photos by Lori Nix.  The funny thing about this exhibit is that I saw a pod on Current that showed how she set-up her dioramas to take the photos of, but I never would’ve thought to find her work in Lancaster.  PCAD is just busting down more misconceptions about the level of work to be found in this city.  Unfortunately, today is the last day to see this exhibit.

Finally, I ended the day at the Creative House of Lancaster meet & greet at Iron Hill brewery.  It was a long, busy day, but full of fun and art!

Posted in Art