Studio Tour – Part Two

Studio View From the Inside Door
Studio View From the Inside Door

Today I’m giving you the rest of my studio tour.  Above and below are two wide views that give you the general layout of the studio.

Studio View From Corner
Studio View From Corner

You can see that I have a window, an inside and an outside door, and, of course, garage doors that I insulated.

Moving on to the hot area of the studio.  I bought a welding table with shields to use as my soldering area.  I have an acetylene/air torch and also a MAPP gas blowtorch that I use here.  There is a crockpot for pickle, a fire extinguisher (one of two), annealing

Soldering Station
Soldering Station

pan, soldering pad(s), and protective glasses that you can’t see in the photo.  I also have a vent to get rid of those noxious fumes.

Next we’ll move on to the forming area.  Here is where you’ll find my anvil and stakes on two stands with my best vise.  On the floor by the anvil stand is the stump I use for sinking.  The giant scary stake is my blowhorn stake that I use most often.  It works for almost everything.  I have a couple mushroom stakes and t-stakes, and I also use the vise for fold-forming.

Forming Area
Forming Area

Here’s a close-up of the blowhorn:

Blowhorn Stake
Blowhorn Stake

Behind the stands is my other workbench.  It’s pretty cheap and I got it Ollie’s

Workbench
Workbench

right out of college.  But it works!  Here is my #2 vise and a couple of other forming tools and my wonderful sandbag.

You might have noticed that there a few odd tools I have.  I took a toolmaking class in college and I made my own sinusoidal stake, tubing block, stake from a railroad spike, delron hammer, and a bezel pusher from a horseshoe

Sinusoidal Stake and Tubing Block
Sinusoidal Stake and Tubing Block

nail.  These are some of my favorite tools and they are used somewhat frequently.  I sometimes wish that I had a gas forge, power polisher, and sanding belts so that I could make more tools.  But, alas, that will have to wait.

And lastly, I leave you with the two posters I have on my wall.   One is from the Radius Gallery Creative Kitchen Showcase that featured my Cracked Spoon on it and the other is the Periodic Table (which I actually used for something the other day).

Creative Kitchen Poster
Creative Kitchen Poster
Periodic Table Poster
Periodic Table Poster

3 thoughts on “Studio Tour – Part Two

Comments are closed.