February Warm Up

Out of the three months at the beginning of the year that bring cold, dreary weather to the region, I’ve always liked February the best.  Of course it’s nice and short and sometimes has a bonus day, and there’s a holiday smack dab in the middle of it, but those aren’t the reason.  This is even in spite of the very real possibility of  snow storm over President’s day, as has happened more than once in my lifetime.  No, the reason is hope.

Wishful Thinking!
Wishful Thinking!

By the time February is rolling around, I’ve usually become mired in the dark, depressing reality of Winter.  (Can you tell I don’t ski?)  But then there is a sudden burst of Spring-like weather, the snow melts, the sun shines, and the air temperature rises.  I start thinking about what outdoor chores I need to get done before Summer.  There’s an actual bounce in my step.  And I stop dreading having to walk the dog twice a day.  Sure, I know that the cold will come back, but I have hope again that I can make it until the end of March before going completely stir-crazy.

So what do you look for to give you hope during the bleakest part of your year?  (And believe me, I know that Summer can be just as bad for some people.  I did live in DC you know.)