Super “Bowl” Sunday Challenge Complete

Super "Bowl" ©WTEK 2009
Super "Bowl" ©WTEK 2009

I finished the bowl!  I admit that I did work on it Thursday and Friday, but most of the work was done today.   The layers came out better than I hoped, and I was even able to make a floating layer.  That was my challenge to myself.

Closer view of the top layers
Closer view of the top layers

I took these pictures in the studio to quickly give you guys some kind of visual reference to what I’m talking about.  The bowl ended up being about 3 3/4″ diameter, which is about where I wanted it.  I wanted to focus on a smaller bowl this time.  It’s made out of 18g NuGold and 22g nickel, with brass tubing and nickel wire for the rivets.

Bottom View of the Bowl
Bottom View of the Bowl

The bowl is lighter in color than it seems in these photos, but the texture came out great.  It was hard riveting the multiple layers.  Next time I might make the bowl larger and have enough room for my hammer to rivet instead of the jerry-rigged job that I had to use with the tight spaces in this one.

Side View That's Incredibly Dark
Side View That's Incredibly Dark

So what do you think?  Did I manage to make a “super” bowl?  Did you step up to the challenge and create your own bowl today?  Leave a comment and let us all know.

3 thoughts on “Super “Bowl” Sunday Challenge Complete

    1. Next year you’ll have to figure out how to make a bowl of words. Or you could just make some really tasty bread bowls filled with chili. That would count.

      Like

Comments are closed.