February Artist of the Month – Megan Auman

Leaf Hoop Earrings ©2008 Megan Auman
Leaf Hoop Earrings ©2008 Megan Auman

It’s time to bring another jeweler/metalworker to your attention.  This month is a bonus because I’m featuring another Pennsylvania artist (that’s the second PA artist if you’re keeping count!)

Megan is someone I first became aware of when we both had pieces in the 2007 Art of the State Exhibition at the State Museum in Harrisburg, PA.  That following winter I saw her in the Searchlight Artists section of the ACC Baltimore show and I stopped to talk with her.  I really enjoyed her sculptural pillows and furniture.  I also like that she is able to keep the same theme going in her jewelry and I love combining steel with precious metals.

©2009 Megan Auman
©2009 Megan Auman

She just released a new line of work that she’s been working on that employs laser cut patterns and you can get them on lamps and boxes that are functional.  Make sure to visit her blog, her website, and as always buy something from her Etsy Shop!