Medallions – Not Just for Hairy Chests Anymore

Medallion #1, nickel & copper
Medallion #1, nickel & copper

You may have noticed that the other series I’ve been working on besides Elements has been a growing number of medallions.  “Medallions?” you might be thinking.  “Aren’t those something hairy European guys in the 70’s wore?”  OK, maybe you would be right.  But it doesn’t have to be that way!  My medallions are meant to be unisex and have just the right level of power and subtlety to make them perfect for anyone – even those without a lot of chest hair.

I had been thinking about medallions for some time because they were symbols of power in older times.  I wanted to have something that was less magically motivated (like a talisman) yet still projected strength.  Besides, mine aren’t giant gold (or gold-plated) disks.  Instead of that kind of gaudiness I use patinaed nickel and copper, making them more subtle and less intimidating to wear while still being prominent enough for people to take notice.

Medallion #3, nickel & copper (that's my dog's hairy chest!)
Medallion #3, nickel & copper (that's my dog's hairy chest!)

So forget about the “Fantasy Island” medallion mentality.  Embrace the new medallion and show the world that you aren’t afraid to change people’s perceptions.

Now, tell me what the word “medallion” means to you.  What do you think that they represent?  What other jewelry seems outdated and in need of a modern update?