Art Every Day Month – Post #5

I’ve been working on the cards feverishly, but I don’t think that I’ll be able to get them done within the confines of November.  I definitely have to either drop a suit (Spirit) or drop at least one card from each group.  As it is, one of the cards I’ve spent a lot of time on (Dig a Hole) came out all wrong and I don’t like it.

Learn
Learn

I meant to have some pictures of the cards I’m working on now, but you’ll have to do with just the PhotoShop images of two of the cards I’m doing right now.  I have all the Earth cards done, two of the Fire, and designs for two Water, Three Air and another Fire card ready.  Hopefully I can get it done, but I’m not going to kill myself to get it finished in the next week.  I’ll just have to extend my deadline!

Walking on Coals
Walking on Coals

One thought on “Art Every Day Month – Post #5

  1. Wendy – I like these cards. The walking on hot coals made me wince and laugh when I saw it.

    I think your metalwork is beautiful, and unique. A lot of jewelry work looks the same to me, or like anybody might have made it (or no one in particular). That’s not the case with these – they seem personal, intimate, even, in some cases. The fold formed pendant, for instance, seems soft and personal, like a parted seam on an old leather jacket, or cracks in an old book binding. And “Water” and “Spirit” are lovely for the way you use the rivets and forging. They look like delicate, personal renderings in black smithing – fragile and yet you’ve chosen shapes and forms that plainly remind us of the force used to make such things. A lovely contrast.

    Like

Comments are closed.