Art Every Day Month – Post #4

Yesterday I got five of the Earth cards pretty much done.  I just need to decide whether or not I’m actually going to put titles on them.  Then I need to prep the fire cards, sketch out the rest of the cards I have ideas for, and then start work on the Fire and Air cards I have sketched out so far.  I’m debating dropping the fifth suit, Spirit, just so I can finish within the month (and it’s going to be hard representing that particular element).  We’ll see how much I manage to get done.  I did get some pictures of the finished cards, but the flash glared off of the decoupage medium on some of the cards.  At the end of the project I’m going to take proper photos with my light tent of each of the cards.  Maybe I’ll create a flickr gallery for them then, or maybe I’ll post it all on Facebook.  We’ll see!

Ancestors/Dios de los Muertos and Count Your Change
Ancestors/Dios de los Muertos and Count Your Change

The skull is mounted on vinyl with fragments I cut off of a tassle strewn about it.  I drew on all the birds on the sky images, as well as the window frame in Count Your Change.  The mountains in the background of Dig a Hole (obviously missing the hole and the pile of dirt) are from a postcard of St John that my parents sent me.  I think they really helped to sell the field though.

Dig a Hole, Pile Stones, Pound Metal
Dig a Hole, Pile Stones, Pound Metal

So what cards would you have made to represent Earth?  Would you have chosen more foresty ideas or more plants?  (Don’t forget that I still have Explore a Cave yet to do.)

2 thoughts on “Art Every Day Month – Post #4

  1. Thanks Leah! I’m loving the skully right now too. Originally there was going to be a graveyard at the bottom of the card, but I liked it with just the gold tassel confetti better.

    Like

Comments are closed.