Taking a Vacation(?) from Work

As this metal-free week comes to a close, I’m glad that I took the time off.  I never want metalworking to become tedious or just like any other job-something that I have do, but don’t want to do.  I came up with some new ideas to try out and I’ve gotten excited again about completing my Elements series.  Some of that excitement might have come from the elemental theme to my inspiration card project for Art Every Day month.  Now of course I have to find the rest of the stones I’m going to design around.  I have the stone I’m using for Metal sitting on my coffee table and last night I came up with a design that I really like.  That will be my first project once I get back into the studio (which became just the garage last week while I did mundane chores in there).

The weather is counteracting my motivational rest though.  All the unsettled wind, the dampness, and the switching from cold to warm is making me want to just curl up with a book and a cup of tea.  Or just take a nap.  I did get some reading done, but I spent a lot of my “spare” time working on AEDM.  It does sometimes seem like I’m cheating on my metalwork, but I really think that I need to stretch my creative muscles more.  I used to paint, draw, weave and take photos.  Then I discovered metal working and they all fell by the wayside.  It’s nice sometimes to just take a break and work on something completely new.  But it will be doubly nice to get back into the studio and start-up some new projects.

Now, I need to look for stones, and buy metal now that the prices have dropped, and don’t get me started on all the incidentals I need…

One thought on “Taking a Vacation(?) from Work

  1. I totally feel you on this one. Breaks are needed so that we don’t get burned out and start becoming resentful towards what we do. Though the sales from it would be nice, I can’t even imagine what it’s like to do continuous production work–I’d go crazy. And as you mentioned, taking breaks really helps to get the creative juices flowing.

    I also used to be really disturbed by my occasional (ok, sometimes frequent) metal-free weeks, but I stopped obsessing over it and let my creative needs come to the surface in their own time to be acknowledged and purged. I don’t work well when I try to force what I do–although I’m working really hard at trying to become more efficient…I absolutely MUST make that happen.

    In any case, breaks are good for you–and don’t ever feel like you’re cheating on your metalwork!

    Like

Comments are closed.