Art Every Day Month – Post #3

I set aside today as the day to get a lot of work done on my Inspiration Cards.  In fact, I’ve now decided that I

My Skull Drawing
My Skull Drawing

won’t work on my metalwork at all this week and instead focus on the AEDM project and do some needed housecleaning.  It’s kind of like a mid-semester break.  Of course if I get any ideas for my metal stuff, I will add them to my sketchbook, but I think I need to relax a little and give myself some perspective this week.

So I began this morning by taking some photos to use for my cards.  Then I struggled for a while trying to draw a skull, realizing that I was over-analyzing it and then just sat down and did a simple sketch which I love.  Then came the afternoon of Photoshop hell, uh, I mean fun.  Actually, it would’ve been fine if my computer wasn’t having some sort of fit after I tried to listen to a stream on it.  I ended up learning a lot about Photoshop Elements, and I really like the work that I got out of the afternoon.

Count Your Change main image
Count Your Change main image

I’ve decided that I’ll use the photo collage on some of the cards, regular old collage on some of the cards, and drawing and painting thrown in to spice it up a bit.  They’ll all actually be a bit of a mix and I kind of want it that way.  I’m still not looking forward to finishing cutting the ill board and then sanding the edges, but I know that I’ll enjoy the durability that they’ll have after the cards are painted and collaged and then lacquered.  All in all I’m having a good time and really trying to stretch myself.  Last night I even did some “clustering” to brainstorm ideas, inspired by Zoë Westhof’s post on Idea Dumps, for the other elemental suits.  Hopefully everything will come out in a way that I like, though probably not how I originally planned.  We’ll see!

Pound Metal main image
Pound Metal main image