Spring in the Air, Spring in my Step, and Creation is Afoot

The pieces of nickel all cut up.

The pieces of nickel all cut up. ©2014 WTEK

Part way through the rivet job.

Part way through the rivet job. ©2014 WTEK

Wow, that’s a long title. Anyway, I’ve been hard at work in the studio lately. I finished the wall piece I started. Did you even know it was going to be a wall piece? I forget. Remember that piece of fold formed nickel? Well, it got cut up into tiny pieces (not really that tiny) and then riveted onto the foldformed brass piece I made at the same time as the nickel one. As you can see, it was heavily influenced by Cascade.

Ta da! All finished. ©2014 WTEK

Ta da! All finished. ©2014 WTEK

.

.

.

.

.

As soon as I ended that, I started a new necklace. It has some matching earrings and all I need to do is darken them then they’re ready for prime time. I also started a new vessel today because right now my brain is overflowing with ideas. It must be the sap is finally flowing or something.

The ultra-cool back ©2014 WTEK

The ultra-cool back ©2014 WTEK

And finally, remember that spiky bowl? I ended up naming it Vortex. This is the name I thought of while I was making it, didn’t think it was vortex-y enough once it was finished, but then I couldn’t find any thing else that seemed right. So Vortex it is! It’s just so complicated sometimes… Oh, and now I need to name the wall piece!

This necklace has an armor-y feel ©2014 WTEK sterling silver

This necklace has an armor-y feel ©2014 WTEK sterling silver

Plans for the new vessel. There will be other parts added to that bit. ©2014 WTEK

Plans for the new vessel. There will be other parts added to that bit. ©2014 WTEK

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring in the Air, Spring in my Step, and Creation is Afoot

  1. Jeni Gray says:

    You’ve been busy!!! Love the new work!! :)

    Like

  2. eanjewellery says:

    Love the armour-y-feel necklace

    Like

Comments are closed.