SBC VI: It Begins

SBC VI logoSo last week I came up with the design for this year’s Super Bowl. I’m starting out with it an odd, egg-like shape. It took a while to get it just where I liked it as a pattern. Then I needed to begin working on it. Not that you haven’t heard a thousand people complaining about the weather, but my studio is in a garage, so it is a factor when it gets this cold and windy.

The cut out bronze

The cut out bronze

I did manage to get in there and form the bowl. I started with the cut-out eggish bronze sheet, then I sunk it. After that I did a bit of raising the sides to make them even, give the bowl more depth, and get the wall shape I was looking for. Now comes the planishing. I began this yesterday, but I haven’t even gotten through planishing the whole piece for the first round. I’ll get to that later in the week when it warms up and I have time.

After the sinking

After the sinking

After the raising

After the raising

Wondering how much planishing really does? When you raise you can get groove marks from the end of the stake where you make the break. These are less than optimal in a finished piece (usually) so you need to get rid of them somehow. You can always file and sand until the metal is a hair-like thinness, or you can planish the marks out. I tried to get a comparison shot for you. There were two rows of the marks in the top part and then I planished one of the rows away in the bottom part of the photo.

Above: No planishing Below: Partially planished

Above: No planishing
Below: Partially planished

Have started thinking about your design for the SBC yet? I really want to see what everyone can come up with.

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Art, Super Bowl Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.