New Medallion in the Works

My design process trying to get the squiggles just right.

My design process trying to get the squiggles just right.

So I got tired of working on the big vessel thingy that I’ve been trying to finish and decided to work on another, faster project right now. This one is a medallion type pendant that is… inspired by this year’s super bowl, Ebb & Flow. You knew I was going to say that didn’t you?

paper patterns for medallion

The cutout paper patterns for the medallion.

I had this design sitting around just waiting for me to get cracking on it, so I made an executive decision to work on something faster for now. It’s just what I’m in the mood for. The vessel will still get finished, just not right this second.

So I transcribed the design to paper patterns and then onto the copper and silver sheet. Each piece was cut out, the silver one was pierced, and then they were both filed. I then drew the pattern to cut the copper piece to fit the silver piece and cut and filed that bad boy also.

Next I’m going to texture the background of the copper piece and then both will be riveted together. That long piece jutting out from the copper will be the bail. I haven’t decided yet what sort of collar to put it on yet. I also haven’t decided whether to form the pieces a little or leave them flat. We’ll see what happens.

The cutout pieces of copper and sterling silver.

The cutout pieces of copper and sterling silver.

Cutting the copper piece to fit the silver.

Cutting the copper piece to fit the silver.

The silver piece with the holes pierced.

The silver piece with the holes pierced.

The two pieces together.

The two pieces together.

See how the copper piece mimics the silver without being an exact match?

See how the copper piece mimics the silver without being an exact match?

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.