I Got to Play With Molten Glass!

Last night we had our Lancaster Designer Craftsmen chapter meeting at Kevin Lehman’s Pottery. It was so much fun! He built a “pizza kiln” and we all had wood fired pizza that was delicious. Then we did some meeting things and had a show & tell where we saw new work from Amy Burk, Greg Pencheff, Brian Cunfer, Lisa Gallagher, heard about Linda Beiler’s recent projects with school children and I passed around some of my recent rings.

Linda Beiler gathering molten glass.

Then the really fun stuff happened. Kevin started blowing glass about a year ago in addition to the ceramic work he’s been doing. So he let us just try out getting a gather of hot glass and messing with it briefly (Kathleen Cunfer really went to town on her gather.) Then he blew a small cylinder (with Linda Beiler helping) so we could see how that happens. It was really cool! I don’t think I’ll necessarily switch media, but it was fun just being able to push around a dab of hot glass.

Kevin Lehman working on the glass cylinder.

And just in case you were wondering how that pizza turned out…

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Got to Play With Molten Glass!

  1. Loved the glass but I think I will go with the pizza !

  2. At first (without reading the story) I thought it was a glass pizza…so lifelike!

  3. Great pics, Wendy. It was even better in person, of course. The glass was super cool, and the pizza was yummmmm!

  4. remaker1 says:

    Fun and delicious! I love that you’re able to meet up with other artisans to share your new work and ideas.

Comments are closed.