And So It Begins…

Hello, my name is Wendy. I always choose to work on super hard projects. I forget that when I say “I’ll only work on pieces that are 7″ diameter and smaller” that it’s for a good reason. Yet here I am raising a 12″ disk for my teapot. Here is the update so far:

The idea. (The handle and front thing are not to scale in this diagram) ©2012 WTEK

The technical drawing of the main part (with actual measurements smudged to protect the innocent) ©2012 WTEK

Starting to raise. The bottom will actually be the top of the pot. ©2012 WTEK

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in metalsmith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And So It Begins…

  1. norma says:

    I love when u post pix, i learn alot..thanks great work. I just forged a high heel and it was very challenging. What gauge metal r u using.

    Like

    • Wow, a high heel?! That sounds crazy. I’m using 20g bronze for the main body right now. I prefer 20g when I’m raising, but it is hard with such a large piece of metal. I’m not really equipped for this size and I actually think I might have to scale down. We’ll see later this week when I get another chance to get in the studio.

      Like

  2. laurie k says:

    Good luck! I want to do a teapot too but I think I have more work to do on raising with curves before I actually attempt it. Go Wendy Go

    Like

    • I kept putting off the teapot too, but this invite kind of put the pressure on ;^) I did more raising in college (of course we had all kinds of stakes and a huge annealing torch there.) I’ve mostly been sinking my bowls, but I was inspired to go back into raising by a few metalsmiths on Facebook.

      Like

Comments are closed.