January Artist Interview – Potter Liz Kinder

Bowls & Vase © Liz Kinder

Liz was one of the other artists at the Alternatives Holiday Craft Show this December at the DCCA.  I had the pleasure of facing her work all evening.  I really like the way her glazes turn out, a process that she said uses a wax resist.  You can find her online at her blog about being a potter and a mom, her other blog that lists what pots she has for sale right now, and at the Liz Kinder website.
 

1. How did you get started in your craft? (using your media)

I WENT TO BOARDING SCHOOL. I TOOK A CERAMICS CLASS MY FIRST YEAR THERE, AND I WAS HOOKED. I TOOK IT EVERY TRIMESTER FROM THEN ON. I’M PRETTY SURE DOING POTTERY ENABLED ME TO STAY ENROLLED. I SPENT SO MUCH TIME IN THE STUDIO IT CUT INTO THE TIME I MIGHT HAVE BEEN SPENDING BEING NAUGHTY.

2. What has been inspiring/influencing your work lately?

A LOVE OF PURPLE AND GREEN. A LOVE OF TOMBSTONES AND IRON FENCES. FLOWERS.

 

Urban chic line © Liz Kinder

3. Who are your favorite artists in your field?

ALICE GOLDSMITH

4. What is your favorite customer quote or story?

I WAS TALKING TO A GUY ABOUT MY VASES. I TOLD THEM THEY MAKE FLOWER ARRANGING EASY FOR MORONS, AND HE RESPONDED, “IF I GIVE THIS TO MY WIFE, AM I TELLING HER SHE’S A MORON?” THE CLASSIC CONVERSATION I HAVE WITH PEOPLE IS:WHAT DO YOU DO?I’M A POTTERA WHAT?A POTTERA WHAT?I MAKE BOWLSOHHHHH!!!! LIKE IN GHOST?IT’S FUNNY THAT MY LIFE IS DEFINED FOR PEOPLE BY A PATRICK SWAYZE MOVIE.

 

Glossy Plate & Bowl © Liz Kinder

5. What is your favorite piece of art or fine craft that you own?

MY HUSBAND DESIGNED AND BUILT OUR HOME. IT’S IN A DEVELOPMENT IN PHILLY CALLED THIN FLATS. I DON’T OWN IT, BUT I’M CONSTANTLY IMPRESSED BY HIS CRAFT. IT WAS FUN TO COLLABORATE WITH HIM. I MADE ALL OF THE VESSEL SINKS IN THE PROJECT. HAVING FRIENDS AND FAMILY INTO OUR HOME ALWAYS GIVES ME PRIDE AND PLEASURE.

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Art, artist, Artist of the Month, Interviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.