Review of Guy Kawasaki’s Enchantment

A few weeks ago I received an advance copy of Guy Kawasaki’s new book, Enchantment.  This is the first book by him that I’ve read, so I wasn’t sure of what to expect.  I’ve read a couple of other books on this same topic (at least one of which Guy used for research), so I wasn’t sure that I’d learn anything new.

I actually enjoyed reading this book!  So many business books come off dry, clinical, or seem too sales-y for my taste.  Guy’s style is very personable, friendly, and readable.  He makes his ideas and research applicable to the real world – even giving you actions you can do RIGHT NOW to become more enchanting.  And none of it feels smarmy or that you’re being manipulative to get people interested in your “cause.”

Another way Guy shows real world application of the book’s principles is by ending each chapter with a true story of enchantment.  The interesting part is that each story is told by someone other than Guy who was themselves enchanted by something.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants help becoming a better salesperson.  You could use these principles as an artist, fundraiser, speaker (or spouse, hehe), pretty much any field where you need other people helping you succeed.

Here is a fun test that Guy created for you to find out how enchanting you are. (It’s on Facebook.)

Blurb from the book jacket:

Enchantment: The Art of Changing Hearts, Minds, and Actions is Guy’s tenth book. In it, he explains how to influence what people will do while maintaining the highest standards of ethics.The book explains when and why enchantment is necessary and then the pillars of enchantment: likability, trustworthiness, and a great cause.

I want to make clear that I am not an affiliate, all I got for this review was a free book.  And now I want to share the wealth and pass this book on to one of you, my fabulous readers!  To be entered in the drawing, just leave a comment with a story of a time that a person, place, or thing enchanted you.  I would also love if you joined my mailing list, but that’s not a requirement, just a bonus point.  I’ll choose a winner the first day of Spring (March 20th) and post it on the blog.  Good luck and I hope that everyone gets a chance to read this book!

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Contests, Marketing, Selling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of Guy Kawasaki’s Enchantment

  1. I recently spent a week at The Balsams Grand Resort Hotel in northern NH as a visiting artist. My week overlapped with the final week of Alex & Luke’s Inn-bedded Resorter gig. I have to say, as wonderful as the grand old resort is (and it IS fabulous), I was absolutely enchanted with Alex & Luke, two young Canadians, using social media to direct their travel adventures around North America & beyond. So open and genuinely friendly & approachable! Absolutely enchanting. I was delighted to have crossed paths with these folks.

  2. Patty says:

    I’m so glad to have read this today. Looks like a good book to add to my library. Thanks for the excellent review-

Comments are closed.