Fun with Fold Forming

What I did today

What I did today

I had been meaning to put aside some time to just mess around in the studio for a while now, and today I finally managed to do just that.  I spent the afternoon just fooling around with some 24 gauge copper and brass trying out some new things.  I tried scoring using a steel wire, but I think that I should have used the copper for this particular trial.  It didn’t work out how I had hoped, so I decided to try and destroy the metal using fold forming techniques.  No, I didn’t take it to the limit, I’m still chicken.  But it did get some cool textures from pounding the crap out of it.

Two Diska and a Chased Cone Shape

Two Disks and a Chased Cone Shape

I also tried air chasing a cone shape, which I loved.  It was fun and you get a whole lot of work done in much shorter time compared with traditional chasing.  Another technique I enjoyed a lot was taking disks and putting v-folds into them

Fun with a Flanger

Fun with a Flanger

while incorporating some chasing as well.  You can see that I did one in copper that has four folds and one in brass where I went crazy and went for thirds.  Why do I do these things to myself?  At the end of the evening I decided to try the ribbon type fold and to mess with a brass tube that I had.  I also took a pipe flanger and the last photo shows my results with that using a t-fold in brass.  Sure it tore through a little, but that adds to its charm, right?

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Skills and Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fun with Fold Forming

  1. Jodi says:

    You really did get some interesting looks from your “messing around”. I have some silver tin I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with, and now you have inspired me! I really want to do something with it that I can use along with clay, not sure yet, but I’ll come up with something, LOL

    Like

  2. Hi!
    I found you through my friend Lexi Erickson. Great blog. LOVE your work.
    Best wishes, Kathleen

    Like

  3. Taueret says:

    I really love these distressed metal pieces, I would love to learn to do that.

    Like

  4. ichia tiyi says:

    hi i’ve been experimenting with fold forming and i can’t get it to come out the way those fabulous designs of yours did…i folded, beat with the mallet, then the hammer but it seems as if i beat the mark out, i need help

    Like

    • hammermarks says:

      Have you looked in Charles Lewton-Brain’s fold forming book? That might be able to help you to better your forming technique. Or look for a workshop in your area where you can learn first hand with a teacher who can see what it is that you are doing.

      Like

  5. ichia tiyi says:

    hi there, what kind of patina do you use and what is your process? i am interested. is it something you can purchase? thank you

    Like

  6. Hammermarks says:

    It’s just the torch patina on everything except the copper disk and copper cone shape. Those have a liver of sulfur patina. LoS doesn’t work on brass or nickel, but works great on copper and sterling silver. I purchased mine from Rio Grande in dry form and then mix it as I need it.

    Like

  7. Jacqueline says:

    I really like how the chased cone shape came out. I’ve been contemplating playing around with that shape for a bracelet, but have a sneaky suspicion I’ll muck it up. Maybe today’s the day to try.

    On a different note. Do you seal heat-colored pieces to protect it? I have not been heat colouring for long enough to look at the affect tarnishing would have on it. What do you recommend?

    Thanks
    Jacqueline

    Like

Comments are closed.