The Elements of Creating a Necklace

Metal - Finished Pendant

Metal - Finished Pendant

Today I’m going to give you an idea of what all goes into the creation of one

Metal Sketches

Metal Sketches

of my Elements necklaces.  As I was making my latest, Metal, I took some photos of the process so that you can see some of what all goes on while I am creating.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take pictures during the fold-forming

Pyrite in Agate with bezel

Pyrite in Agate with bezel

process because of the groove that I get in during it, but you can visit Charles Lewton Brain‘s site for more info on that (by the way that book would make a great holiday gift :^).

First, I found a gemstone that I thought fitted the element of Metal.  Then I made some designs around that stone.  I fitted a bezel to the stone, soldered it into a ring, then I textured some brass sheet for the bezel back using an asphalt roofing shingle.  I then soldered them together.

Look at that Seam

Look at that Seam

Next I began work on the fold formed elements of the pendant.  I loosely cut some copper sheet into the shapes I had sketched out and began to hammer the folds in.  When I was happy with the designs of the

Shingle Textured Brass

Shingle Textured Brass

folds, I finished off the edges of the two pieces and formed them into 3-d shapes.

I proceed to move the fold formed pieces around the bezel form until I found a position that worked the best with the design.  It was at this point that I realized that the shape of the stone which I had

Original Positioning Idea

Original Positioning Idea

picked out resembled an eye.  This changed the way I wanted it displayed and I deviated from my original design plan (this happens a lot as I work through pieces, the metal sometimes disagrees with my original plan and we devise a better design

Back of Piece

Back of Piece

together).

At this point I am able to cut down the bezel backing into tabs for riveting the fold formed pieces onto.  After this I plan out the shape of the forged wires that will also be riveted to the pendant.  I’ve included some different design ideas that I worked

through here with the final design showing the actual wires which were then hammer textured with my riveting hammer.  At this point I rivet the piece together and voila, a necklace is born.  There was also a lot of sanding and filing that took place, but I didn’t take pictures of those processes.  Of course it still needs a chain, but that’s another day…

Wire Design Idea #1

Wire Design Idea #1

Wire Design Idea #2

Wire Design Idea #2

Final Wire Design

Final Wire Design

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Jewelry, New Work, Skills and Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Elements of Creating a Necklace

  1. Tamra says:

    Verrrry nice walk-through–and fabulous piece!

Comments are closed.